Old Dogs and Broken Hearts

I’m feeling a little sad today… Every now and then I start to think about Old Dogs and it breaks my heart. Especially the thought of one particular Old Dog – Bajas. A year ago I had an eight year old puppy. People would ask me how old my puppy was and I’d be so proud of my little old man.. Couldn’t they see his face was getting gray? But his bubbly personality would make such an impact they’d just assume he had to be a puppy. But he wasn’t. As a puppy he was a nightmare! As a little old man he was a delight – well behaved and still puppy like. But when he fell and hurt his back this spring things started to change. Being immobilized to such an extent he’s lost almost all his muscle tone. He can’t go for walks or many of the other things he enjoyed so much.. He’s turned into an Old Dog. Every time he falls over my heart breaks.. And every time he does his happy pug dance when we enter the room I’m reminded of how much I love him.

I’ve been worrying about the day he’s experiencing more trouble than joy. I’ve been worrying about what will happen when it gets cold – will it cause him pain? Then yesterday I realized something. Winter is coming… It’s going to be snow and ice and ickyness outside. He’s already falling over on the grass… what will happen when it’s heaps of snow or slippery ice? There’s only so much we can do to help him. I realized that there’s a chance the footing will become such a challenge that we might have to make a difficult decision. It makes me so sad to think about. So I’m not going to – we’ll see whether it will become an issue eventually. It’s nothing we can do either way, so we’ll just enjoy the happy moments for now.

Hug your pug!
Ane

8 thoughts on “Old Dogs and Broken Hearts

  1. We know EXACTLY how your mom feels because our mom feels the same way about me!
    Take it easy and live life to the fullest and stay happy, Bajas. We love you!

    Maggie and Mitch

  2. My momma says the same thing about me, too. She says, “Oh Mango, you are so fragile in your old age and every time you slip and fall and hurt yourself I feel helpless and sad.” Momma says that there is a hard decision in my future too. But you know what, little friend? You will be fine and your momma will help you make your journey when it is just the right time for sure.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

    P.S. From Mango Momma – My heart goes out to you. Not an easy time for you or Bajas. As long as he is happy… that’s what counts.

  3. I was sad to see this but you have the right attitude and enjoy the now. I came to say thank you for visiting and helping me celebrate my birthday.. Hugs GJ xx

  4. This is something that all of us think about and always wish it will remain as far away as possible. Have you spoken to your vet about things you might do to strengthen his legs again? There may yet be possibilities out there other than immediate heartache.

  5. It’s something we all have to think about. But until then you just gotta take one day at a time, and love them as much as possible. Stay Strong.
    Hugs,
    Dachshund Nola
    P.S. When mommy’s old dog would come back from the snow, she’d give him a heating bad to lay on and warm chicken broth in his food, it really helped him.

  6. You still look like a beautiful, healthy, happy puppy Bajas! Eight is still young! We know your back injury worries your Mama but we think there are many good years ahead of you still little guy! Our two little dogs wear sweaters and jackets when it is cold and that really helps! Maybe there are ways to make Bajas stronger physically too so the risk of slipping is less.We know he is very well taken care of and very much loved because he truly “shines” with wellbeing!
    Don’t worry too much Mama! Hugs.
    the critters in The Cottage xo

Leave a Reply

